Dwell Development Earns Prestigious Housing Innovation Award from the US Department of Energy 

The DOE Housing Innovation Awards recognize nation’s top builders on the path to Zero Energy Ready Homes

The US Department of Energy has announced that Dwell Development has been awarded a 2016 Housing Innovation Award in the Custom (Spec) category. Grand Winners in each category will be announced at the 2016 Housing Innovation Awards Ceremony, Wednesday, September 27th at the EEBA Excellence in Building Conference in Dallas, Texas.

“Housing Innovation Award winners such as Dwell Development are leading a major housing industry transformation to zero energy ready homes. This level of performance is the home of the future because it improves the way Americans live by substantially reducing or eliminating utility bills, ensuring engineered comfort way beyond traditional homes, protecting health with a comprehensive package of indoor air quality measures, and helping maximize the largest investment of a lifetime,” said Sam Rashkin, Chief Architect at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Building Technologies Office.

“These winners are leading the movement to Zero Energy Ready Homes that provide better places for Americans to live, stronger communities, and a more economically and environmentally resilient nation,” said Rashkin.

A complete list of the 2016 Housing Innovation Award Winners is below. Visit the U.S Department of Energy’s Housing Innovation Award’s website to learn more about the awards. Winning homes from previous award years can be viewed on the DOE Tour of Zero.


  • Addison Homes, Greer, SC
  • BrightLeaf Homes, Brookfield, IL
  • [bundle] design studio, Bellingham, WA
  • DP Construction, Prattville, AL
  • Dwell Development, Seattle, WA
  • Element Design | Build, Henderson, NV
  • Garbett Homes, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Heath E Community Enterprises of Virginia, Williamsburg, VA
  • Lifestyle Homes, Inc., West Melbourne, FL